6 College Backpack Essentials

As you know, I’m currently in college, and it’s nearing the end of my second year here. Hard to believe I’m almost halfway done with my coursework!

Throughout these past two years, I’ve noticed some items I always have in my backpack, besides the normal laptop, notebooks, and pencils. Here is my list of 6 essentials you should always keep in your backpack!

1. Water Bottle 

Water Bottle

This is the most important thing to have with you at all times. You’re supposed to drink 64 ounces of water a day, so definitely have a reusable water bottle in your backpack! There are plenty of water fountains around campus to refill from!

2. Hand Sanitizer

DSC_0216

You’re not always going to be able to wash your hands. You’re touching a lot of surfaces that are touched by the thousands of other students on campus. I definitely recommend having some hand sanitizer with you. I have one of the holders for mine, and it’s so easy to attach to your backpack! You’ll be happy you have it when you need it.

3. Umbrella 

DSC_0213

Depending on where you’re located, an umbrella is one of those things that could save your life. Where my university is, it rains often and sometimes unexpectedly. Having an umbrella in your backpack (I put mine in one of the water bottle pockets) is necessary. I don’t know about you, but I definitely don’t want to be sitting in class soaking wet. Carry and umbrella!

4. Planner

DSC_0217

I’m one of those people who, if I don’t have it written down, won’t remember anything. I carry my planner with me at all times. It helps me keep track of meetings, homework assignments, projects, and other activities I want to attend on campus! If you don’t want a physical planner, I also use Google Calendar on my phone to keep track of my class schedule and other events.

5. Gum

DSC_0214

You’ve got about 30 minutes in between class to grab a bite to eat. Not really enough time to make sure your breath smells minty fresh after you scarf down a sandwich. Definitely carry gum with you. Note: also great after your 3rd cup of coffee after pulling an all-nighter trying to finish that assignment you procrastinated on.

6. Snack

DSC_0215

Sometimes you won’t have enough time to grab a meal in between class, and that’s why it’s great to carry a snack with you. I recommend granola bars, or some sort of other easy-to-eat snack. I love these bars, they taste like dessert (which I am a fan of).

There you have it! My list of college backpack essentials. For those of you heading off to school for the first time this fall, I hope this post can help you know what you’ll need with you on an every day basis!

Did you have something you would include in your list of essentials? Let me know in the comments! Be sure to follow my blog if you would like to see more from me in the future!

3 thoughts on “6 College Backpack Essentials

  1. Don’t forget chapstick! Not only for your lips, but applying chapstick to paper cuts helps them heal faster and you won’t have that ache in your hand every time you hold something!

Leave a Reply

