Blogmas Day #15 – Social Anxiety

Today’s post is a serious topic.

Like many others, I have social anxiety, and perhaps social anxiety disorder. I have trouble making phone calls, going to social events where there are people I don’t know very well, and just doing general “adult” things.

Generally the only cure for this is either therapy, where they will probably just gradually force you to do the things that cause anxiety, or antidepressants. So, naturally, why not give myself therapy instead of paying for it?

I try to do things that are out of my comfort zone, even if they cause me anxiety. Like today, I made a couple of phone calls. I was really proud of myself. I also did a couple of “adult” things, like go to the car shop to have them do something to my car. Normally, I would make my mom do it. It’s an irrational fear of not knowing what could happen and how I should react or what to say, in the fear of embarrassing myself. I know it’s stupid, but I can’t help it.

So, as I said, to try and fix this I try and force myself to do things. This usually ends up in me having to spend the entire next day (or at least the majority of the day) alone, not talking to people. Doing these anxiety-triggering things literally drains me and I almost can’t function like a normal person. Sure, it sucks, but it’s who I am. I just have to accept it and live my life.

If you reading this also have social anxiety disorder, or just experience some of the things I talked about, know that you’re not alone, and it’s okay. It’s possible to still do things, just make sure you make time for yourself to “recharge”. If you’d like to talk about it, I’d be happy to talk to you.

It’s Monday! Have a great week everyone.

One thought on “Blogmas Day #15 – Social Anxiety

Leave a Reply

